Hope Springs Eternal

And then comes crashing down… soon we’ll forget what that yellow circle in the sky used to be. So I used some liquid light to take some photos of some of my recent pots

Image

An oil spot/chrome tin pink bowl. The pink came out a lot more red here than it did in France.

A close up showing the spots:

Image

A bottle/vase. I don’t usually make those but was seized with an urge a week or two ago and made six(!)

Image

The bottom is a matte black I love, a strontium base that has a lot of life.

A close up of the neck (hope you can see the tiny spots):

Image

Next up, a bowl. It’s a strange size, I started out with 1.5lbs of clay and they just kept growing… I thought a cereal bowl, in which case I’d have glazed it differently (the morning seems to call for something softer), but this is more of a noodle/rice/large soup bowl. So I went all out:

Image

Image

The inside is a red based on Daniel de Montmollin’s book. For more about DdM, stay tuned. Getting acquainted with his writings on glaze was hands down the best ceramic reason for being in France for half a year.

I tried to take a photo of another big bowl glazed oil spot and red, but the light was gone and it was out of focus. I’ll try some other time.

Mugs:

Image

Image

The right mug has Coleman Tea Dust on the rim. Now as you can see, the ‘dust’ (crystallization) is so dense it covers most of the surface. The reason is that I fired the kiln down slowly from 1035C to 835C, which is where the red glazes get their colour. But so do other crystals (iron red glazes are actually red crystals floating on a mostly brown/black/greenish background)

The red on the bottom actually shows that. It’s a different red from the one on the bowl – much more orange, and if you look closely you’ll see the crystals floating. It’s also based on DdM’s book.

(just realized it’s out of focus… this is a very good lens and I was going for as shallow a field as possible – maybe excessively so. I guess I owe another photo – stay tuned for when there’s a bit more light than now)

Image

By the way, I’m not a typical potter. Recipes/firing schedules/details – just ask.

4 thoughts on “Hope Springs Eternal

  1. Branden

    hello David – I discovered your site while looking for chrome red glaze recipes. Looks like the mug and the rice/noodle bowl are iron red glazes. can you share the glaze formulas? I am firing to cone 6 in an electric kiln and I’ve had a bit of success with iron reds, though my results are not consistent.
    I was thinking of trying chrome-tin reds, but these glazes on your site are so strong and saturated looking.
    I hadn’t heard of Daniel de Montmollin. I looked him up, I guess he’s a monk? so interesting. I’m sure you’ve heard of Brother Thomas who also specialized in red glazes (copper reds). anyway, any help you could give would be very appreciated.
    Cheers,
    Branden

    Reply
  2. pricklypotter Post author

    Hi Branden, I fire to cone 10 electric. I can’t say that I understand iron reds that well. The recipe is

    Custer Feldspar 36
    Amtalc-C98 11.5
    Bone Ash 13.5
    EP Kaolin 18.5
    Silica 20.5
    Iron Oxide Red 11.5

    And it may require a few drops of darvan or sodium silicate for deflocculation. I do only a modest controlled cool down, 125/hr from 1830 to 1700F.

    Chrome reds, on the other hand, are something that I played a lot with. My current favourite: http://glazy.org/recipes/5570, disregard the strange pinholes that come from something that was wedged into the clay body (not by me, it was a discard pot that I used as a test pot). You can also get a very decent red without any barium but I’ll have to dig up the recipe and figure out which one it was out of 5 different ones. I find this glaze very satisfying, problem free, with a reduction look.

    Reply
  3. branden

    thanks so much for your reply.
    I don’t have access to a cone 10 kiln now, but I’ll continue with my cone 6 experiments.
    I did find a cone 6 chrome red that is very similar so i’ll give it a try.
    Cheers,
    Branden

    Reply

Leave a Reply

